Connect with us


Why Bayern Munich will wear a fifth star on their shirt



From the start of the 2021/22 Bundesliga campaign, a fifth star will adorn the shirt of record champions Bayern Munich. explains why…

In line with Deutsche Fußball Liga’s (DFL) matchwear guidelines, commemorative stars are awarded to Bundesliga-winning clubs as follows:

  • Upon a third title: one star
  • Upon a fifth title: two stars
  • Upon a 10th title: three stars
  • Upon a 20th title: four stars
  • Upon a 30th title: five stars

Recommended editorial content from Twitter

At this point you will find external content from Twitter that complements the article. You can show it with a click and hide it again.Allow Twitter content

I agree that external content from Twitter will be shown to me. This enables personal data to be transmitted to Twitter and cookies to be set by Twitter. You can find out more about this in Twitter’s privacy statement

Edit cookie settings

Bayern won their 30th German league title in 2019/20, but it was their 29th since the Bundesliga’s inaugural season in 1963/64. They landed their 30th of the Bundesliga era – and record-extending ninth in a row – in 2020/21, which is why they are only receiving their fifth star now.

“The fifth star on our home jerseys is the reward for 30 league titles since the founding of the Bundesliga in 1963,” said Bayern CEO Karl-Heinz Rummenigge. “This has been earned by many generations of players, and is proof of FC Bayern’s decades of consistency at the highest level – FC Bayern fans can be proud of that.”

Watch: How Bayern Munich celebrated their 30th Bundesliga title win

Other than Bayern, Borussia Dortmund, Borussia Mönchengladbach (both five titles), Werder Bremen (four), VfB Stuttgart and Hamburg (both three) all have the requisite number of stars on their jerseys. The Borussias have two; Bremen, Stuttgart and Hamburg have one. The shirts of one-time Bundesliga winners Cologne and Kaiserslautern are star-less.

Bayern will unveil their new home threads, complete with fifth star, in July. According to DFL statutes, the width and height of the symbol must be between 20 and 22 millimeters.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply