Connect with us


FIFA 2030 World Cup: First-ever three-continent tournament



FIFA 2030 World Cup: First-ever three-continent tournament

FIFA, the global governing body for football, has revealed the host countries for the 2023 World Cup tournament.

FIFA announced the news on its official website on Wednesday, October 4, 2023. According to the body, the 2032 tournament will be hosted in six countries and three continents.

The President of FIFA, Gianni Infantino confirmed in a statement that the body intends to unite the world with football. Spain, Portugal and Morocco have been named as the co-hosts, with the opening three matches taking place in Uruguay, Argentina and Paraguay.

“In a divided world, Fifa and football are uniting, the Fifa Council, representing the entire world of football, unanimously agreed to celebrate the centenary of the Fifa World Cup, whose first edition was played in Uruguay in 1930, in the most appropriate way. In 2030, we will have a unique global footprint, three continents – Africa, Europe and South America, and six countries – Argentina, Morocco, Paraguay, Portugal, Spain and Uruguay – welcoming and uniting the world while celebrating together the beautiful game, the centenary and the Fifa World Cup.”

It was also confirmed that only bids from countries in the Asian Football Confederation and the Oceania Football Confederation will be considered for the 2034 finals.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply